Congress bets on outsiders over old warhorses

Lucknow: In Uttar Pradesh, after Priyanka Gandhi Vadra became the party in-charge in UP, leaders who left the Bahujan Samaj Party, bypassing the old Congressmen, have once again been given prominence over the old warriors.

The appointments come months after Ajay Lallu resigned from the post of UP Congress Committee chief following the party’s crushing defeat in the assembly elections held in March this year. In the 2022 UP assembly elections, the Congress managed to win only two seats. If a former president of the party is to be believed, the high command has lost faith in the veteran leaders of the Congress, so now a large number of leaders who have come from outside are being given preference.

Congress got one seat in the Congress in the assembly elections

Congress General Secretary Priyanka Vadra Gandhi’s aggressive campaign and even her decision to give 40 percent tickets to women failed to attract the masses in UP. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections too, the Congress got only one seat and that too to its President Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareilly). His son and former Congress President Rahul Gandhi was defeated by senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani from Congress stronghold Amethi.

State President and 6 Provincial Presidents were appointed

The post of UPCC chief was lying vacant as party president Sonia Gandhi had asked the state chiefs of five states to resign after the election defeat. The Congress had to face defeat in the assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Manipur and Punjab. The Indian National Congress on Saturday appointed Dalit Brijlal Khabri as its Uttar Pradesh unit chief, besides half a dozen more leaders as regional chiefs in Uttar Pradesh.

नोट: अगर आपको यह खबर पसंद आई तो इसे शेयर करना न भूलें, देश-विदेश से जुड़ी ताजा अपडेट पाने के लिए कृपया The Lucknow Tribune के  Facebook  पेज को Like व Twitter पर Follow करना न भूलें... -------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------