India creates history with a phenomenal win over Indonesia at Thomas Cup

Bangkok: When a person is determined to do something, then the impossible becomes possible. Indian men’s badminton team has also done the same. India defeated Indonesia 3-0 in the final match played in Bangkok on Sunday. In the final match, the 14-time champion Indonesian team was being said to be a contender for victory, but the Indian players proved all the guesses wrong.

The Indian team has achieved this success by going in the 13th attempt. Earlier, India had participated in this tournament on 12 occasions, where its best performance was in 1979. Then the Indian team was successful in reaching the semi-finals. Apart from this, in the events of 1952 and 1955, India had traveled till the last round.

Only one player participated in Athens. On this historic victory, former hockey player Viren Rasquinha says, ‘When I played the Olympics in Athens 2004, there was only one Indian player in the men’s badminton draw who lost very early. Today we are the Thomas Cup champions in 2022. What is the depth in Indian badminton? What is the change. Amazing winning mindset.

Indian football legend Sunil Chhetri was elated with the win and wrote in a tweet, ‘What a moment for the Indian game. We are the first time Thomas Cup champions and we beat the best team to get it. Congratulations to the players and staff. Some things take time, but don’t let anyone tell you you can’t do it.

India’s victory is memorable because in the events of 2014, 2016, 2018 India could not even reach the knockout. At the same time, in 2020, she was out after losing in the quarter-finals. This time too, India was defeated by Chinese Taipei in the group stage, after which analysts believed that India would not be able to progress beyond the quarter-finals. But Team India achieved golden success by defeating Malaysia, Denmark and Indonesia.

This victory is also special because the top ranking players were present in teams like Malaysia, Indonesia, Denmark. But Satwik-Chirag, Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth. Not one of them went in front of HS Prannoy. In the final, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty defeated Kevin Sanjaya and Mohammad Ahsan, who have many big titles to their name. At the same time, Lakshya Sen and Kidambi Srikanth also dusted the players of higher ranking than them.

India is only the sixth country to win the Thomas Cup. Indonesia is the most successful team, having won 14 times. At the same time, the Chinese team, which has been participating in this tournament since 1982, has won 10 and Malaysia has won 5 titles. India, Japan and Denmark all have one title each. The Thomas Cup has traditionally been dominated by Asian teams. Denmark was the first non-Asian team to win the title, beating Indonesia 3–2 in the 2016 final.

नोट: अगर आपको यह खबर पसंद आई तो इसे शेयर करना न भूलें, देश-विदेश से जुड़ी ताजा अपडेट पाने के लिए कृपया The Lucknow Tribune के  Facebook  पेज को Like व Twitter पर Follow करना न भूलें... -------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------