Indian National Congress sets up screening committees for upcoming state elections

New Delhi: The grand old party has set up screening committees to make that perfect pick for the upcoming state elections with a sharp focus on Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Kerala and Bengal. To overlook the overall preparations, the chosen person at the top level is senior leader Digvijay Singh who is the chairman of the committee for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. Apart from Singh, the others chosen at important positions are HK Patil, the chairman of the committee for Kerala and the chairman of the committee for Bengal, JP Agarwal.

The final approval on candidates however rests with the Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

In a statement issued by the party, the committee set up for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry included former Goa Chief Minister and Lok Sabha member Francisco Sardinha and Lok Sabha member K.K. Suresh. Its ex-officio members include All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge for Tamil Nadu, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Tamil Nadu Congress President KS Alagiri, Puducherry Congress President AV Subramanian, Congress Legislature Party leader KR Ramasamy in Tamil Nadu, Legislature Party Leader V. Puducherry. Narayanasamy and AICC Secretary for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Sreedhar Babu and Praneethi Shinde will be members in the screening committee for Kerala. While the ex-officio members include AICC general secretary in-charge Tariq Anwar, state Congress chief M. Ramachandran and Congress Legislature Party leader Ramesh Chennithala. Former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy is also one of the ex-officio members. He is chairman of the party’s election management and strategy committee.

Members of the committee for Bengal include Mahesh Joshi and Naseem Khan. Ex-officio members include AICC in-charge for Bengal Jitin Prasad, state Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary and Congress Legislature Party leader Abdul Mannan, besides AICC secretary for Bengal.

नोट: अगर आपको यह खबर पसंद आई तो इसे शेयर करना न भूलें, देश-विदेश से जुड़ी ताजा अपडेट पाने के लिए कृपया The Lucknow Tribune के  Facebook  पेज को Like व Twitter पर Follow करना न भूलें... --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------