Mayawati led BSP stares at an uphill task as uncertainty shrouds its existence ahead of 2022

Lucknow: Assembly elections are to be held in Uttar Pradesh next year. The opposition parties are calling it an election of change, but it is being considered as an election of existence for the BSP. The state is witnessing a fight between BJP and SP. The BSP is fighting on the strength of its traditional votes, but is lacking the mojo.

Many strong leaders of BSP have left the party and joined the SP. There is a stampede in the BSP even before the elections.  BJP is also keeping an eye on BSP leaders leaving the party. Talking of the leaders in BSP, now only a few old faces are left. Mayawati and Satish Chandra Mishra are seen as the main faces of the party.

Two young faces in BSP

While other parties are spearheading their respective campaigns, BSP has not yet focused on the election campaign. BJP, SP and Congress have already turned on rally mode. The BSP is now taking the youth leaders forward. Mayawati’s nephew Akash Anand and Satish Chandra Mishra’s son Kapil Mishra are being seen as the young faces of the party. Akash Anand is trying to consolidate his traditional votes and Kapil Mishra’s Brahmin voters.

BSP could not show any better performance in the last two assembly elections. With time, changes are  being seen in it. Mayawati is constantly holding election review meetings. She is holding press conferences continuously and is interacting with the media. Along with this, she has recently become active on social media as well. However, Mayawati has been accusing the media that her party is being shown as weak. Mayawati has now asked BSP workers to take the achievements of her government to the public during 2007-12.

Disintegrating caste votes

The core voters of BSP are considered to be Scheduled Castes. In Uttar Pradesh, 21 percent are Dalits. Other castes of SC are scattered. Some vote for SP and some for BJP. But 12-13 percent Dalit voters of the state vote for BSP in any case. Apart from its core voters, Muslim and OBC votes are not visible in this election along with BSP. The reason for this can also be that more than 50 backward class leaders have gone to the SP.

The graph of BSP went down continuously

It will not be an exaggeration if the 2022 assembly election for the BSP is called the election of existence. In 2007, in the 403-seat Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the BSP formed a government of absolute majority by winning 206 seats. But in the 2012 assembly elections, the BSP was reduced to 80 seats. At the same time, in the 2017 assembly elections, the condition of the BSP worsened and it won only 19 seats. If we look at the three election results, then the graph of BSP is going down continuously.

Not only this, even in the Lok Sabha elections, BSP has not been able to do anything special for the last two times. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP had won 20 seats. At the same time, its account was not even opened in the 2014 assembly elections. However, in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP was successful in winning 10 seats with the help of the SP alliance. But now there is no support of SP-BSP. Akhilesh Yadav is also constantly trying to include big leaders in the SP. At the same time, BSP is looking for such leaders of SP and BJP whose tickets have been refused.

नोट: अगर आपको यह खबर पसंद आई तो इसे शेयर करना न भूलें, देश-विदेश से जुड़ी ताजा अपडेट पाने के लिए कृपया The Lucknow Tribune के  Facebook  पेज को Like व Twitter पर Follow करना न भूलें... ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------