Voting continues for second phase of municipal elections

Lucknow: Voting has started in 38 districts  in the second phase of UP Municipal Elections (UP Nikay Chuanv). Voters can exercise their vote till 6 pm. In the second phase, elections are being held for 6,929 posts in 370 urban bodies of 38 districts. There are 39146 candidates in the fray for various posts.

During this, Chief Minister Yogi has appealed to everyone to vote. The Chief Minister said that one must participate in this festival of democracy. Do vote. Your valuable vote will make your Municipal Corporation more empowered. Remember, first voting, then refreshments!

State’s Finance Minister Suresh Kumar Khanna cast his vote first in the morning in Shahjahanpur for the first time in the mayoral election. He cast his first vote at booth number 189 at Pratap Enclave in the city. Voting has started at 530 centers in Kanpur city. There are complete preparations of the administration regarding the civic elections.

Voting has also started in Aligarh and Hathras. Voters have started reaching the booths. There are queues of male and female voters. 111 companies of PAC and Central Armed Police Forces are deployed at polling stations. The counting of votes will be done on May 13, Saturday.

State Election Commissioner Manoj Kumar said that elections are being held on Thursday for seven municipal corporations, 590 municipal wards, 95 municipal council presidents and 2,551 councilors and 268 posts of nagar panchayat presidents and 3,495 members in 38 districts of the state. There are 39,69,294 male and 34,57,512 female voters in seven municipal corporations. There are 38,86,525 male and 34,44,385 female voters in 95 municipal councils. There are 23,61,173 male and 21,13,115 female voters in 268 Nagar Panchayats.

Heavy police force has been deployed for the second phase. According to DG Special Law and Crime Prashant Kumar, additional police force has been deployed at all sensitive, ultra sensitive and ultra sensitive plus booths. There will also be webcasting and videography. The control room will work 24 hours. Arrangements have also been made to take ballot boxes and EVMs to the strong room after polling.

Meerut, Hapur, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Bareilly, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Pilibhit, Aligarh, Hathras, Kasganj, Etah, Kanpur Nagar, Farukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Banda, Voting is being held in Ayodhya, Sultanpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Barabanki, Amethi, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Siddharthnagar, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra and Bhadohi.

नोट: अगर आपको यह खबर पसंद आई तो इसे शेयर करना न भूलें, देश-विदेश से जुड़ी ताजा अपडेट पाने के लिए कृपया The Lucknow Tribune के  Facebook  पेज को Like व Twitter पर Follow करना न भूलें... -------------------------